Apex Hotels Blog

Award for Apex Chairman

 Permanent link   All Posts

Norman Springford wins the HIT Scotland Lifetime Achievement Award.

Sponsored by Brakes and trade magazine Caterer & Hotelkeeper. The HIT Scotland industry award recognises an individual who shows dedication to raising standards and a passion for the industry that goes beyond their job description.

Norman Springford is presented with HIT Scotland Lifetime Achievement Award

David Cochrane, Chief Executive for HIT Scotland says "HIT Scotland are delighted to present Norman Springford with this award. Norman is a highly respected Scottish businessman who has achieved great things for our Industry and Apex Hotels are doing fantastically well in such challenging times. There was an overwhelming amount of nominations and it was a unanimous decision from the judges."

Collecting the award on Mr Springford’s behalf was Angela Vickers, Managing Director for Apex Hotels.

The award was presented by Steven Carter, Chairman for HIT Scotland and Hotelier of the Year alongside Paul Wilson, Chair of the Industry dinner and Arlene Bonomi, Sales Director for Brakes.

Norman Springford says "We are absolutely delighted, but as everyone realises, this is very much a team award, and it is great to see them recognised for all the hard work that they have put in over the years."

The dinner was held at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow on Thursday 30th March for over 400 guests. Guests were in for a culinary treat with an International themed dinner prepared by a team of Hilton chefs from around the world, flown in especially to create each course.

Money from the event benefits HIT Scotland, a charity working to raise professional aspirations across the hospitality industry. Over £2 million has been raised by HIT Scotland since the Trust’s inception in 1994. Nearly 10 000 students have benefited from the bursary scheme and they have awarded over 700 scholarships, placing talented workers on ‘money can’t buy’ learning experiences or placements at top hospitality schools around the world.

Norman Springford will join a list of deserving winners including last year’s winner Joe Queen, Executive Chef at Hilton Hotels. Other recipients include Peter Lederer, Neil Thomson, Ken McCulloch, Avril Robertson, Peter Taylor, Tony Jackson, Stewart Cameron, Andrew Fairlie, James Thomson, Tony Jackson, Stewart Cameron, David Cochrane, Larbi, Willie Pike and joint winners Eddie Friel and Jack Munro.

Please log in to comment

We use cookies on this website to measure & improve performance.  (X) Hide this message